Concepts and New Balance Introduce the 10th Anniversary MADE in USA 998 ‘C-Note’

Concepts and New Balance Introduce the 10th Anniversary MADE in USA 998 ‘C-Note’

Concepts and New Balance mark the 10th anniversary of the MADE in USA 998 ‘C-Notes Only’ with a special reintroduction of the classic collaboration.

Originally released when the one hundred dollar bill was redesigned to include hues of blue and reissued to the public on October 8, 2013, the 998 ‘C-Note’ takes cues from the century note with a familiar green accented by off-white tones, bright blue, and metallic copper. It also speaks to the ubiquity of cash even in today’s increasingly digital payment-based world.

“Money talks, if there’s one thing that hasn’t changed in the past 10 years it’s that. The C-Note represents all of us, it’s the universal language of exchange. Whether you’re old money or new money, you can relate.” says Concepts Creative Director Deon Point.

The sleek, angular 998 silhouette features a classic mesh upper, complemented with suede overlays, toe guard and heel counter. Special features of this release include a co-branded embroidered tongue and sockliner, Concepts branding at the vamp, and custom packaging. Released in 1993, the 998 was the first shoe to utilize ABZORB cushioning. This revolutionary step forward in shock absorption was matched visually with a sleek update to the classic 99X series look. New Balance MADE U.S. footwear contains a domestic value of 70% or more. MADE makes up a limited portion of New Balance’s U.S. sales.

The Concepts x New Balance MADE in USA 998 ‘C-Note’ will launch globally on October 5th on cncpts.com at 9AM ET, and in Concepts locations in Boston and NYC at 10AM ET.

 

Cash is the lifeblood of any business. To tell the story of the exchange, we chose to do so through the lens of everyday life at our community staples. The bodega, the pizza shop, laundromat, café, and garage. These places are the ties that bind us all. When you support them, you're not just putting money in the till; you're keeping the heartbeat of our neighborhoods alive. From East Boston, to Mission Hill, Roxbury, and Malden–we’re all connected by the common thread of community.


Where mass production and faceless transactions are commonplace, community businesses remind us of the value of a genuine connection. They know our names, our stories, and our preferences. They make our neighborhoods unique, vibrant, and resilient. So, let's remember the importance of these local gems and continue to support them, ensuring our communities thrive for generations to come.


We’re truly humbled by the opportunity to feature businesses owned by friends and family that come from all different backgrounds, upbringings, and locations, yet are united by a common purpose—to serve and enrich the communities they are a part of. We’re privileged to share their stories through our film ‘The Exchange’. Special thanks goes to:


Businesses:
In The Cut Boston @inthecutboston
Madhouse Motors @madhousemotors
Madhouse Café @madhouse.cafe
Visbile Ink Tattoos @visibleinktattoos
Santarpios Pizza @santarpiospizza
1 More Rep Athletics @1mrathletics
La Union Market and Butchery
Blue Hill Halal Market

Talent:
Maxime Hilaire @mattoomanner
Braun Hill @braunski_beat
Drea Hudson @theonlyhudson
J Shia @jshia
Oompa @oompoutloud
Patrick Sweeney @therealsweeney
Kyle Umemba @kyleumemba
Helen Zhao @hellz_yeahh
Ty @kingslyce
Cash @fnkworld
Baby Indiglo @babyindiglo
Andrew Hampshire @andrewhampshire
Drew Power-Koch @unfollowmethen
Oz Osborne @landofoz.tv
Madison St. Pierre @madison_stpierre
Czarface @czarface_eso
Cass Rodriguez @stealthmade
Rebecca Moore @beckycupcakes
David Germinari @davidgerminari
Nam Thai @nammy_t
Visible Ink Tattoos @visibleinktattoos
Wahid @wahidsweat
Joanne Elie @justjoanne
Melisa Valdez @missmelivaldez
Lucius Firmin @lucius_firmin
Givona Dietz @cherriieyz

Crew:
Production House: Wanderlust Content @Wanderlustcontent
Director: Ian McFarland @Ian_McFarland
Co-Produced: Concepts @cncpts
Executive Producer: Eric D’Amario @edamario
Line Producer: Mike Bowes @mikebowesinsta
Copywriter: Rick Frisiello @RickFrisiello
VO: Slaine @Slainesworld
DP: Tom Fitzgerald @T.acton_Fitzgerald
AC: Asa Reed @AsaReed
Gaffer: Ruben Alves @ruby_ruby_ruby_ruben
Production Designer: Devilfish Productions @devilfish_productions
Edit: Ian McFarland @Ian_McFarland @Mcfarlandfilms
Color: Rob Bessette @RobBessette @color_refinery
Sound Design & Mix: Aaron Drake @aaronmrdrake
Music: Krimson Beats @Krimson_beats
Prod Asst.: Connor Finn, Joanne Elie @justjoanne, Becca Giller @beccajgiller
Styling: Madison St. Pierre @madison_stpierre, Jackie Carbone @jackie.cmyk
SFX Artist: Noah Shulman @mr_shulman
Creative Direction: Deon Point, Oz Osborne @deonpoint @landofoz.tv

 

Concepts x New Balance C-Note Concepts x New Balance C-Note

 

Concepts x New Balance C-Note Concepts x New Balance C-Note

 

Concepts x New Balance C-Note Concepts x New Balance C-Note

 

Concepts x New Balance C-Note Concepts x New Balance C-Note
Back to blog